Captain William Kennedy
House
Discover the charm and history of the Kennedy House, a provincially designated historic site in the RM of St. Andrews. Built in 1866 using stones quarried from banks of Red River near the St. Andrews Rapids. The Gothic Revival architecture is distinctive with its irregular lines and sharply pitched multi-gable roof—offering a unique contrast to the Georgian-inspired stone buildings typical of the Red River Settlement.
This historic home was built for Captain William Kennedy, a Hudson's Bay Company employee, Arctic explorer, entrepreneur, and advocate for Canadian westward expansion. Together with his wife, Eleanor, he became a prominent figure in Red River society.
While the beloved tea house that operated here from the 1970s until 2015 has since closed due to structural challenges, the Kennedy House remains a cherished piece of history waiting to open to the public again.



Plan Your Visit!
-
Though the building is closed, visitors can walk the English gardens and admire the flowers. This is a local favourite to take family photos.
-
There is parking available on site.
-
A group of volunteers formed the Kennedy House Renewal Committee (KHRC) and approached the RM of St. Andrews seeking approval to act on Council’s behalf to explore opportunities to repair and reopen the house to the public. Since that time restorative repairs have been made and it is hoped the building will open again sometime in 2025 or 2026.