Captain Kennedy House, a stone mansion nestled on the banks of the Red River, was built in 1866. The house’s namesake, Captain William Kennedy, was a Métis explorer best known for commanding two expeditions to search for Sir John Franklin in the Arctic. Kennedy later served as an Anglican missionary and Hudson’s Bay Company employee in Lower Fort Garry.
Kennedy House is owned by the province and was designated a heritage site in 1989. But the building, which housed a museum and tea room, closed its doors in 2015 because of structural problems.
A residents’ group in the R.M. of St. Andrews is calling on the provincial government to restore one of the community’s oldest buildings.
Follow the link to hear Lois Wales’ interview on CTV.